needlenews

Visiting Tomorrow’s Treasures in New Baltimore

In embroidery, quilting, sewing on August 19, 2010 at 9:02 am

I had a chance to stop in at Tomorrow’s Treasures in New Baltimore this week.  What a delight!  The shop owner is friendly and energetic and that shows clearly in this cute little shop.   The shop is fresh and loaded with kits, patterns, and 5 block of the month quilts to choose from.  There are  numerous samples all around the shop.  Every one of them a treasure.

I noticed 3 table runners that were being shown and found out that the shop owner designed them and they are part of the table runner of the month program the shop offers.  These 3 were the August, September, and October patterns.  The series started August 7th this year.  Click here to see pictures  of them in the Shop’s August 7th blog entry.

What brought me into the store that day was the need for deep red Perle cotton thread for a project I’m working on.  We all know you have to be careful with red because it has a tendency to run.  The project I’m shopping for has ALOT of embroidery and I wanted to be sure I got thread that wasn’t going to cause a problem.  I’ve been using DMC floss and Perle cotton for years and I haven’t had a problem….but I’ve heard horror stories of the colors running from more than one person.  Tomorrow’s Treasure’s carries Finca in both 8 and 12.  She stocks quite a few colors and plenty of patterns to add embroidery to your quilts.

The owner Tomorrow’s Treasures is also a longarm quilter.  She does that at her home so that she can work uninterupted.  A pretty busy gal!  She, like many of us, enjoys shopping at all the quilt shops in and around the thumb and lower southeast Michigan.  We chatted for a few minutes about some of the shops in the area.  She knows everybody!  The problem is when you’re a shop owner the shop takes up all your time.  I can feel her pain.  I don’t own a shop but working full-time takes up way too much of my week.  It’s hard to get out there and shop let alone find time to acutually quilt.  This shop is worth squeezing in though.  I know I’ll be back!

Leave a comment