needlenews

In support of the small shops

In beadwork, knitting, michigan, patchwork, quilting, yarn shops on June 15, 2010 at 1:37 am

Since this is my first ever blog I thought I’d tell you a little about what I hope to accomplish with it.  I’m a quilter, knitter, seamstress, beader and rubber stamper.  I love all needle arts!  I also work full-time.  (sigh)   So when I don’t have time to persue the activities I truly love to do, I shop.  I stop in at quilts shops, knit shops, quilt shows, stamping and scrapbooking shops.  You never know what you might find in a small shop in the city or in the country.  Each one is an oasis of creativity.  They inspire me every time.  I love them all.  

Two things have been my inspiration to start this blog. 

  1. With the economy the way it is we are loosing some wonderful  small independent shops.  Too many are struggling to stay afloat.
  2. There doesn’t seem to be a single location you can turn to let you know when wonderful events might be happening.    Maybe its a nationally known speaker or trunk show.  Or maybe its a quilt show or fiber festival.  Too often you hear about them when they are over and it’s too late to attend. 

So here’s my plan.  With this blog I hope to create a resource for all my fellow needle artists to turn too for inspiration and information.  Stay tuned.  We’re just getting started.

Leave a comment